Nostalgia with a Twist

According to Merriam-Webester Dictionary, nostalgia is defined as:

  • pleasure and sadness that is caused by remembering something from the past and wishing that you could experience it again

Well this word is talking about the past. But can it work for the opposite? Can you feel nostalgic for the future? I don’t mean day dreaming your life away because you are too focused on the future and NOT the present. I mean the feeling of missing something that hasn’t happen yet; it’s like a memory in your mind already and you already miss it, and you want to experience it again. Is there a word for that? Cause I feel like that sometimes….

I’ve never been to Europe; but I have a strange feeling of missing it even thought I’ve never been there. I miss drinking a wine on the terrace while watching a sunset or people walk by. Or listening to the local music. (My goal is to hopefully live there one day! Crazy, but I want to do it) Another experience I am missing is the memories I make with the guy I will grow old with. I am missing his company even though we haven’t met; nor do I know what he looks like. (Mr.Whoever-you-are I hope we meet soon. Cause I miss you and would like to start creating some memories) I am also missing the weekends my family and I will spend at the Farmers Market buying our local vegetables. I am not saying I am not living my life and I’m just thinking and waiting for the future. I am definitely living my life the way I want, but there are moments when I feel like this.

Am I the only who’s ever felt that way?

Let me know what you think

