Kaikoura, New Zealand

On our bus route with Naked Bus, from Blenheim to Christchurch, on the only main two-lane highway we stopped at Kaikoura. Blink and you’ll miss the town. Walk down the main road in 2 mintues, and you’ve walked the whole place. ย Depending on where you are standing, if you look straight ahead you’ll see the lovely ocean with a majestic view of the mountains. Even thought we only had a thirty minute stop here, I can say it left an impression on me. (sadly, I only took a few pictures) I wish we could of stayed here a few more days; it’s a “top” spot for wildlife. There’s suppose to be a seal colony close by, and this is suppose to be the best whale watching spot.

What I really enjoyed was the beach. It’s not a white sandy beach, but it’s actually rocks. And this may sound random, but I enjoyed hearing the rocks hit each other as the waves crashed against them and they returned to the ocean. It’s hard to explain, so here’s a little video: (you have to listen closely)

I don’t know why, but I love hearing this unique sound as the rocks strike each other because of the waves moving them.

There’s a little bridge to connect the town and ocean

If you’re in New Zealand, this should be a place not missed. I hope this stimulates your interest to travel!ย Bon Voyage!

One thought on “Kaikoura, New Zealand

  1. We spent a night here a few years ago and loved it. The scenery is magnificent and the fish and chips are the best! Glad you enjoyed your short stop in Kaikoura. ๐Ÿ™‚

Let me know what you think

