The Ferry to South Island

On my birthday last year we took the ferry to South Island. I only remember the exact date because it was a birthday to remember. And can I say it’s a very welcoming view. Leaving from the Wellington Harbor or Cook Strait and arriving at Picton we took a three hour ferry ride. Riding through Marlborough Sound on the boat was not to sound cheesy magical. As of last year, there were two major companies that offered a ferry ride: Interislander or Bluebridge Ferries. We booked with Interislander, and  I was pleased with their service. It was a huge boat with a little cafe that offered drinks and snacks. The five us took the station wagon; so I think with the cost of the car it costed about $65 per person. BUT I could be wrong. I think without a car, and just taking the ferry itself it costs $55. If you want to get to South Island faster, you can take a plane. But I highly recommend taking the ferry. It may take a little longer, but it’s worth the ride. We were lucky to have a clear blue day. I hope this encourages you to take a ferry to the South Island. Bon Voyage!

Wellington Harbor

Enjoying the view

The route
A glimpse inside the ferry
My cute Chai Tea
Picton
Let me know what you think

