Cebu, Philippines

Last week, I wrote about swimming with whale sharks in the Philippines, so I thought I would share some things to do in  Cebu as well.

Food

If you are a vegetarian, it may be hard to find some food because it always seemed like I was eating some kind of meat even for breakfast, but it was so delicious! If you pay a visit to the Philippines, you should try lechon. Basically a roasted pig. The crispiness of the pork skin with the tender meat, and a vinegar  sauce…. mmhhh I’m getting hungry thinking about it.

rsz_dscn0728
Lechon

Another traditional dish I adored was halo-halo. Meaning mix-mix in Tagalog. It usually consist of ice cream, crushed ice, evaporated milk, and a variety of fruits.

rsz_img_2123
Halo-Halo

Island Hopping

Since Philippines has so many islands, why not try to see a few? When I was in Oslob, I took a boat to Dumaguete. But I remember when I was younger, we rented a boat, and when island hopping around Mactan. If you look at the map, you can already see there are quite a few islands. There are many agencies who can assit you with a tour 🙂 Something I highly recommend.

rsz_img_2596

rsz_img_2615
Both from crossing into Dumaguete

City Center

Like any city center, it’s a hustle and bustle. Market, jeepneys, tricycles, street food etc But if you enjoy history, there are a couple places you can visit.

rsz_img_2601
Inside a colorful tricycle
  • Fort San Pedro  – A military defense built by the Spaniards in the early 17th century.
    rsz_img_2062
    rsz_img_2060
  • Magellan’s Cross
    rsz_img_2070

About an hour north of the city center, there is a resort called Papa Kit’s marina and fishing Lagoon. It’s next to a lake and there’s heaps of actives for the whole family like: horseback riding, fishing, wakeboard, zipline, obstacle course, and wall climbing. Also if you catch some fish, you are able to eat it at their restaurant as well.

rsz_img_2853

rsz_img_2904
Zip lining across the lake

As I stated before, I didn’t see much in the Philippines. But these are a few things I did do that I really enjoyed 🙂 I hope this encourages you to see the world! Bon voyage!

Let me know what you think

